AiCadGen vs Zoo
Zoo builds a CAD platform: Design Studio with its own modelling language, a Text-to-CAD API metered separately from the app, and an agent (Zookeeper) that works inside that studio. AiCadGen is narrower on purpose — a text-to-CAD front end whose output is the file you take elsewhere: a STEP solid, a printable STL, a DXF or a dimensioned PDF drawing sheet, refined by chat and opened in the CAD or slicer you already use.
| AiCadGen | Zoo | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting point | Plain-English description (or a drawing / photo as a guide) | Text prompt or Zoo Design Studio modelling |
| What you get | STEP (AP242), STL, 3MF, DXF, DWG, PDF drawing sheets, GLB | Editable 3D models in Zoo Design Studio (their words); export formats: see their docs |
| 2D engineering drawings | Yes — dimensioned sheets from a description | Not stated on their public pages |
| Multi-part assemblies | Yes — STEP assembly with per-part files | Not stated on their public pages |
| Where you edit | By chat, then in any CAD via STEP | Inside Zoo Design Studio |
| API | By request while demand is gauged | Yes — usage-based API pricing, metered separately from the app |
| Pricing | Memberships from $5/mo (Maker, 7-day free trial, card required); $12 Starter; $29 Pro | Free plan plus paid plans — see zoo.dev/pricing for current figures |
| Best for | A real file fast — parts, brackets, enclosures, drawings | Teams who want to model and iterate inside one AI-native CAD platform |
Which should you use?
Pick Zoo if you want to live inside a new CAD platform with its own studio and an agent that works there. Pick AiCadGen if you want a description turned into a STEP, STL, DXF or drawing you can drop into the tools you already have, with a $5 way in. If you are unsure, the 7-day trial costs nothing to find out.
Compared 29 Sept 2026. Zoo details are taken from their public pages on that date; see zoo.dev/pricing for current pricing.